Dining Room Rehab

Last night, I was FINALLY able to paint my dining room. My boyfriend was holding off because he wanted to take down all the trim and redo it. However, after looking at it more closely, there are only two pieces of baseboard trim that really need to be replaced. The trim around the archways and doorways also need to be replaced but, taking down the existing won’t hurt the walls. SO, he gave me the go-ahead to paint. I’ve had the paint for over a month now and I have been dying to see it in the room.

Our dining room was an icky beige color (along with everything else in the house) and the color looked a little something like this

IMG_5485
The color, now, looks like this

IMG_8653-0
please excuse the mismatched furniture, NONE of it is staying but we have to wait until spring to build our new furniture. The black entertainment center is actually not even suppose to be there, it’s just too heavy to carry into the basement. (Or we’re too lazy…I’ll stick with the first)

I’m so happy with how the dining room now flows nicely with our super light grey living room that was painted just before Christmas, it too was that icky beige color.

IMG_8651-0
Again, I know the decor doesn’t flow, but it will…eventually. This is by no means a “before-and-after” post of the dining room because it is nowhere near completion.

My boyfriend has been making jokes about our “50 Shades of Grey” house because every room, so far, is a neutral grey color. But, I think with the new dining room color, I have completely sold him on the color choices. He keeps telling me how much he loves it and how it feels more like “us”. (To that I thought, I sure as hell hope this feels more like us rather than that boring beige color, I would hate to know the version of us that actually liked that)

I really believe a nice neutral wall with pops of accent colors in the decor, is the best way to design a room. I think painting a whole room a strong color like green, blue, or red INSTEAD of just decorating with them (or just having an accent wall) is very overwhelming or overpowering. I always tell my boyfriend, “I keep my neutral side on the walls and my wild side in the decor.” Then again, my wild side isn’t very wild compared to most people.

Right now, the room has shrunk, a little, not too badly but, because the grey is much deeper than the beige, it makes the room feel smaller. To fix this, I’m going to decorate with lighter accents to, not only, tie in the living room but also brighten the room up a bit. It also doesn’t help that four huge pieces of furniture currently reside in my dining room, all of which are super dark colors.

Our style in the living room is light, airy, with deep wood tones and gold touches. Since the living room is deep wood tones against a light grey color, I want to carry some light wood tones into the dining room against the deep grey color.

Here is some of my inspiration for the dining room (so far)

IMG_8671

IMG_8673

IMG_8672

IMG_8668

IMG_8666

IMG_8669

IMG_8670

IMG_8667

I also love this following picture particularly, because this is exactly the color in my dining room. And, whoever designed this room mixed the wood tones just like I envision for my room as well.

IMG_8674

I can’t wait to bring this room to life and make it another beautiful living space in our home.

If you have any suggestions please let me know!

Thanks for reading!

Sincerely,
Feli

Leave a Reply

